I have a dream..

Martin Luther King Jr. was an American activist who fought for civil rights in 1960s. He was famous for his “I have a dream” speech. If Martin Luther King Jr. had been alive today and living in Namma Bengaluru, he would have been an activist focusing on “Road Rights” J and he would have delivered a new version of “I have a dream” that would go like this…

“I am happy to join with you today in what will go down in history as the greatest demonstration for freedom in the history of roads of Namma Bengaulru

Let us not wallow in the valley of despair, I say to you today, my friends.

And so even though we face the difficulties of today and tomorrow, I still have a dream. It is a dream deeply rooted in the aam aadmi’s dream.

I have a dream that one day this pseudo city will rise up and live out the true meaning of “pedestrian rights”

I have a dream that BBMP will build footpaths and clear them of encroachments leaving it to its rightful owner – the ordinary pedestrians.

I have a dream that BBMP and other agencies, will not dig up roads after it is freshly laid and will clean up the muck they leave when it digs up roads.

I have a dream that BBMP will move bus stops to a safer and better place than bang at the beginning and end of fly-overs or at the confluence of two roads.

I have a dream today!

I have a dream that one day the drivers of BMTC buses will park their buses in the bus bays or on the extreme left lane of the road, rather than in the extreme right lane and block traffic.

I have a dream that one day the educated drivers in Bengaluru, will not block the traffic that is going straight by queuing up in the middle and left lanes when they actually have to turn right.

I have a dream that one day the auto rickshaws (especially those slow diesel goods carriers) and two-wheelers will drive on the left lane and leave the right lane for faster vehicles.

I have a dream that one day the heavy vehicles will stick to the left lane and leave the right lane for faster vehicles.

I have a dream that drivers will patiently wait for the signal to turn green and not honk and hoot their way through a red light.

I have a dream that the BPO/ITES cab drivers will behave well and not drive rashly as if their life was on stake.

I have a dream that one day, when I drive from Koramangala to Indira Nagar in a traffic jam, bikes will not take over the pavement meant for pedestrians, cars will not jump the queue through the wrong side and create further jam for oncoming traffic and that people will wait patiently and help in clearing the jam faster.

I have a dream today!

I have a dream that one day I can take a bus to work without having to run after it despite waiting at the pre-destined bus stop

This is our hope, and this is the faith that I go back with.

And this will be the day — this will be the day when all of God’s children will be able to sing with new meaning:

And if Bengaluru is to be a great city, this must become true

And so let freedom ring from the prodigious gardens of Lal Bagh

Let freedom ring from the mighty lakes of Ulsoor

Let freedom ring from the heightening towers of M G Road

Let freedom ring from the busy bazars of Chickpet

Let freedom ring from the treacherous roads of Jayanagar

                Free at last! Free at last!

                Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!

I am sure Martin Luther King could have dreamt on and on…there are so many more things that he would be worried about, but aam aadmi cannot and has to move on with his life..

There is time and space for a new awakening amongst people who can make this difference – us!

0 Responses to “I have a dream..”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

