What’s with NDTV 24×7?

I am a fan of NDTV 24×7 news channel. I must admit that it is the first channel that I switch to when I turn on the television. I like its simplicity, the reporters.  It is uncomplicated and of course, much of the attraction seems to be cause of the first program that was produced by NDTV – “The world this week”. Prannoy Roy in his younger days with his black beard was one anchor that I loved and I waited eagerly for Fridays in my childhood. NDTV was and is loved, for all this, I am sure. Many of the modern day 24 hour news channels are off shoots started by ex-NDTVites.

Off late when ever I switch on NDTV 24×7, the focus seems to be on Pakistan. There seems to be too much emphasis on what is happening in Pakistan. The political developments in our neighbourhood does merit focus, but not the type provided byNDTV.  Why this obsession with Pakistan? I am sure there are lot of other important news that needs reporting.

Rajdeep Sardesai from CNN-IBN seems to be stealing a march ahead of NDTV with his focus on the polls and with the launch of IBNPOLITICS.COM

I am sure Prannoy Da has something up his sleeve, but is Pakistan taking up too much of his time and energy?

2 Responses to “What’s with NDTV 24×7?”


  1. 1 Prasanna Gopalan March 17, 2009 at 1:29 am

    What is your opinion on the minority obsession that NDTV has?


Leave a Reply

